Lifeink

The life and words of Ashley, Erin, and Michelle

Double-sided tape, cardstock, photo paper, ribbon, and Christmas – Oh my! November 22, 2010

Filed under: Life in General — michellehuegel @ 10:59 pm

I was going to title this post “My First Hybrid Project,” but that’s not entirely accurate. Last year I whipped up some pretty nifty hybrid calendars. But this is my first non-calendar project! I’m quite proud of myself, even if I did beg Josh to do half the cutting, because me and exacto knives don’t get along well. He even cut out some (ok, 4 out of 5) of the pages. Hmm… maybe this is Josh’s first hybrid project…

A shot of the whole thing – the first page starts with Christmas 2006, the earliest I could find a digital photo for :).

Anyway, regardless of who deserves the credit, I think it turned out lovely! Sadly, my photography skills aren’t showing it off very well. It’s a little ornament-shaped mini-book that one of my favorite designers, Angel Hartline, created using papers and elements from her “Home for the Holidays” kit. Really all I had to do was drop my photos behind the PNG files and print. I printed on 5×7 glossy photo paper, because that’s what I had on hand. It would be pretty on matte presentation paper or something similar, too. After cutting the ornament shapes out, I traced them onto heavy cardstock/light chipboard then cut those out. I mounted the pages using double-sided Scotch scrapbooking tape, and inked the edges. Finally, I tied them all together with a pretty velvety ribbon. The ribbon had a little wire in it, so it holds its shape nicely.

Here’s pictures of each page:

Christmas 2007

Christmas 2008

Christmas 2009

Christmas 2009 (just Cai – because he totally deserves his own page :))

This set can also be used to create a banner (just string each page along some ribbon) or tree ornaments (reduce to 50% before printing). You can find this Home for the Holidays set here:

and the mini-kit:

Angel also has another ornament mini-album available using her “Holiday Madness” collection:

Holiday Madness 3-in-1 ornament hybrid project

Have you made any “hybrid” or other crafty projects for the holidays? I’d love to hear about them – or even better, link me up to some pictures in the comments!

 

One Response to “Double-sided tape, cardstock, photo paper, ribbon, and Christmas – Oh my!”

  1. Goregous! What a cool idea!


Leave a Reply

