Lifeink

The life and words of Ashley, Erin, and Michelle

Defining “You” July 19, 2010

Filed under: Life in General — michellehuegel @ 1:03 pm

Photo by Erin Hollister

Remember my last post, and my plans to apply to some creative teams? Well, I’ve been working on that, and I came across a thought-provoking question. One designer asked her applicants, “What is your style?” This question, while obviously asking about scrapbooking style, made me pause and think about it on a slightly grander scale. You know, those big life-defining questions – “Who am I?” “What do I like?” “How do I express myself?” and so on.

How do you define yourself? When I thought about ways to define oneself, cliche labels came to mind first – goth, preppy, artistic, free spirit, country hick, cowgirl (yep Texas is rubbing off on me!). Then I thought about stages in life – teen, highschooler, college student, single, wife, mom, grandma, young professional, entrepreneur. Some people define themselves by their hobby: “I’m a [gardener, quilter, cyclist, runner, golfer, poker player, scrapbooker, stamp collecter, movie aficionado].” Other people place more emphasis on their job: “I’m a/an [accountant, cashier, writer, teacher, office grunt, pro wrestler, childcare provider, fireman, graphic designer].”

Personally, I find a greater peace and sense of “self-truth” in the descriptions the Bible offers for who I am (thanks to Freedom in Christ Ministries for this partial list):

  • God’s child (John 1:12)
  • a member of Christ’s body (the church) (1 Cor. 12:27)
  • complete in Christ (Col. 2:9-10)
  • blessed with a spirit of power, love, and a sound mind, rather than a spirit of fear (2 Tim. 1:7)
  • a citizen of heaven (Philip. 3:20)
  • God’s temple (1 Cor. 3:16)
  • God’s workmanship (Eph. 2:10)

But none of those categories seem to fully and completely encompass who I am. I don’t think it’s possible to define “me” or “you” in a few words, or even a few sentences. We are truly amazing creatures, capable of doing and being so many different things all at once, or at different times in our lives as our circumstances change. Think for a moment about how many “labels” you could apply to yourself right now. For example, right now I am: a scrapbooker, a reader, a mother, a wife, a daughter, a granddaughter, pregnant, unemployed, a creative spirit, a blogger, and a Christian. And that’s just what I could come up with in a few minutes! Never limit yourself or allow anyone else to place limits on you by forcing you into one specific “box”!

I’d love to hear your feedback on this – how would you define yourself? Hopefully I’ve inspired you to think a little broader and give yourself a little more free reign in being “YOU”!

Now maybe in my next post I’ll actually get around to figuring out what my (scrapbook) style is!

 

One Response to “Defining “You””

  1. That’s a hard question Michelle, but a good one to think about. It seems like there’s no one word, or even set of words that captures our essence.

    I think that’s a good thing!


Leave a Reply

