Lifeink

The life and words of Ashley, Erin, and Michelle

What's Something You Never Believed Until You Experienced It Yourself? July 5, 2010

Filed under: Life in General — michellehuegel @ 6:02 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Until I held my first child in my arms, I didn’t truly believe in the depth of absolute, unconditional love that comes with parenthood. I didn’t comprehend the depth of love God has for me as His child. I didn’t understand the phrase “just wait till you have kids of your own!”

Then they handed me my firstborn, my son. Maybe it wasn’t even that moment. But at some point in the next few hazy, painful, exhilarating weeks I experienced the closest thing to God’s unconditional love that we can experience here on earth – the love of a mother for her child.

Now I’m the one saying “just wait till you have kids” – because no words can describe the feeling. It permeates every aspect of life and colors every interaction with your child.

What is something you never believed in, or that didn’t seem possible or “real” to you, until you experienced it personally?

 

3 Responses to “What's Something You Never Believed Until You Experienced It Yourself?”

  1. André Says:

    Marriage… Death and Kids… not in this order

  2. Hmmmm. I’ll have to think about this one.

  3. Erin Joy Says:

    People say that to me when I’m babysitting and say, “How can you do this all day? It’s exhausting!” I hope to someday understand.


Leave a Reply

