Lifeink

The life and words of Ashley, Erin, and Michelle

Battle Scars of the Modern Day Workforce May 20, 2010

The one thing I love most about my job is that I’m never doing the same thing from one week to the next. Last week, I spent the entire week working on a PowerPoint® presentation while every day so far this week, I have been working on cleaning a room that started out looking quite a bit like the cover of this book:

Berenstein Bears

No joke. That’s almost exactly what it looked like, but with more boxes and no kids. By now, it’s begun to look a lot more like this, but with toys lining the walls instead of artwork and no carpet:

Please note, neither of these is really my workplace. Just comparisons. But I would love to work in the world of the Berenstain Bears, but that’s another blog post in itself.

While cleaning yesterday I somehow managed to nick my finger on a door, and earlier in the week, I think I did something awful to my finger trying to break down corrugated boxes. It was sore for two whole days afterward. I haven’t felt this beat up at work since working in the factory! (But I like this job a hundred and fifty million times better, let me tell you!)

Sure, sometimes I may use these as battle scars to compare with other people at work and see who’s suffered the most damage over the last three months, but there are other non-physical scars people who work here like to compare, too. These are scars we take pride in, things that make us feel like we’ve done our duty to our jobs.

  • The number of paper cuts received in a single day
  • The number of hours of overtime you work in one week
  • The latest time you’ve ever stayed after the typical 5 p.m. closing time (or your shift if you work something other than the typical 9-5 job)
  • The earliest one person has ever had to come into work
  • The most changes to a single project in one day
  • The longest length of time it takes to upload a file to the ftp site
  • The number of times you cut yourself with an Xacto blade in one day
  • How many cans of 5-hour energy drink needed to survive one week
  • How many cups of coffee or cans of pop one person can drain in the same day
  • The longest flight an individual has had to take on account of work

Are there any battle scars you compare with your coworkers to prove who is the most dedicated to your jobs, no matter what industry you work in? Are there other things that should be added to this list?

 

9 Responses to “Battle Scars of the Modern Day Workforce”

  1. Abby Says:

    For us, it’s how many pages your grant proposal is, and how late you turned in said proposal (I’ve heard stories of flying someone to D.C. to turn in the proposal at the last minute).

  2. Hmmm thankfully I don’t have any actual injuries from working with Josh, but battle scars from my house … That may be another story slough nothing noteworthy comes to mind. 🙂

  3. Not exactly battle scars, but we do have an on-going conversation in the adjunct faculty workroom about the “best” excuses students give for missing class. My two personal favorites after two semesters are:
    “I was accidentally drunk” and “I thought our campus was closed.” That last one was the message sent to me at the top of a forward of a campus alert that the student had somehow gotten from some college in New York during one of last winter’s whopper snow storms (our campus is Indiana). I thought that perhaps her first clue that she was on the wrong track might have been that the alert started out saying it was from ______________ College, but…

    • Erin Joy Says:

      How does one get “accidentally” drunk? And I’m fairly confident that the other student was just playing dumb. Wow. That’s the worst excuse I’ve ever heard.

  4. ClantoR Says:

    Injuries: hair pulled, bitten, scratched, pinched….

    Battle scars: how many butts wiped in one day, how many times I’ve been peed on

    Gotta love the little cousins!


Leave a Reply

