Lifeink

The life and words of Ashley, Erin, and Michelle

Facebook Fan Pages March 9, 2010

Filed under: Writing — michellehuegel @ 5:21 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

I’m quite proud of my most recent technological accomplishment – publishing a Facebook fan page! The page is for published author Patricia Strefling, who I’ve been working with lately on some editing projects as well as computer projects, such as setting up this Facebook fan page and her Etsy shop (she makes and sells beautiful crocheted baby afghans).

Creating the fan page took me back to my days at Davenport U as a marketing major, as we discussed ways to drive traffic to the page, links to other authors and sites, and choosing photos and blurbs for different areas of the page. The fan page is really all about marketing, but on a “grass roots” level – focused on connecting personally with your target market (your “fans”). The end goal, however, is still to drive sales/traffic/readership/etc. I think it’s a great idea and I’m excited to build my editing business to the point where I need a fan page!

I wish Facebook would build more customization capabilities into their fan pages. For example, I’d love to put up a sidebar box with all of Pat’s favorite links – to fellow authors, her publisher, etc. The link box available now will only show 2-3 links and I don’t think there’s a way to choose which ones are displayed (although I could be wrong).

I think the Discussion board area has great potential especially for the creative arts people like Pat. She can create a post for each of her books, and hopefully get some thoughtful discussions going and ideas for future stories! Check her out – her inspirational romance books Edwina and Cecilia are available now!

If you have any sort of business I encourage you to create a Facebook fan page. Seems like everyone is on Facebook nowadays, and it’s a great way to touch base with your friends and clients, and hopefully reach new ones! If you have a page already, would you mind sharing it with us in the comments? I’d love to see how you’re using this great feature!

So now I have a question for our LifeInk readers – do you think LifeInk needs a Facebook fan page? Would you be our fan? If we do launch a page in the future, what would you like to see on it? Besides, of course, blog post updates (because I know you never want to miss an episode :))!! How about additional links and info about posts? Updates on past posts? We would love to hear your thoughts and ideas!

PS – Of course, you can always find the three of us on Facebook! We are all on pretty frequently posting insightful and witty status updates (HAH!) and we love to chat!

 

3 Responses to “Facebook Fan Pages”

  1. Wow! Michelle, I expected to read your blog and was very surprised to see your comments about my site!

    I am in love with what you did. And since I don’t know the first thing about fan pages…it was you who suggested I do it…I was thrilled to see all the details on one page!

    Before the fan page, I had crocheting in one place, books in another…and didn’t quite know how to circle up the wagons into one space!

    So…thank you for getting me started! It’s people like you, who know these things…that get people like me “out there!”

    I appreciate it! And to give others a tip…Michelle and I are going to work on my next book together. Her in charge of editing AND marketing (as you can see) and me writing.

    I couldn’t pull off a good story without help! So…kudos to you for your good ideas and your good work!

  2. Yes, I would be a fan of LifeInk. But some may say I have a vested interest … 🙂

  3. Erin Joy Says:

    I think it’s a great idea. I can supply the photo for you. 🙂


Leave a Reply

