Lifeink

The life and words of Ashley, Erin, and Michelle

First Hints of Spring March 3, 2010

Filed under: Life in General,Photos — Erin Joy @ 12:14 pm
Tags: , , , ,

The last couple days I’ve been driving home with my window down because it’s felt warm. The sunshine is so bright, something I’ve missed incredibly this year. I don’t even mind that I’m temporarily blinded on my way to work in the morning. I even switched from wearing my wool coat to work.

But I’m in Michigan. So, that means this “warm” weather we’ve been having has only been about 38 degrees. That may account for why I’ve been needing to take some DayQuil in the morning the last two days as well, but I just can’t help it.

There are other signs, too, that say that spring may be just around the corner. I saw a cardinal as I pulled into the parking lot at work this morning. Listening to the radio in the car, people were calling in with different “signs of spring” that they’d seen, including an opossum showing up at a concert last night. I’m not quite sure how that means it’s spring, but that person was convinced.

My favorite sign, however, is the tiny little snowdrop flowers that begin to bloom. When I was a little girl, we had an abundance of these right outside our kitchen door, and I’d pick a handful to put in a dixie cup for my mother. I am not sure which of us enjoyed this tradition more. In fact, some of my favorite memories as a little girl were when I was picking flowers for my mom to put in the kitchen window. Sadly, we don’t have a kitchen window any more, and the flowers we put on the table often get shoved off onto a counter.

Mowie, the photographer of a food photography blog I recently started following, was able to capture a beautiful image of one.

What is your favorite sign of spring?

 

3 Responses to “First Hints of Spring”

  1. ClantoR Says:

    My signs for spring so far:

    -birds: watch and listen, you can tell
    -I saw a flock of mourning doves last week (I think they stay all winter, but you don’t see much of them)
    -skunks are beginning to awake, I’ve smelled one
    -live spider on the outside of the house a couple weeks ago
    -this morning I had a dream that I saw 2 hummingbirds and then 2 butterflies, before seeing any robins
    -we’ve begun planting: Mom planted some flower seeds in containers this week, the veggies will get planted in a couple more weeks

  2. Daylight begins sooner! I was so thrilled to peek out the window at 6:55 and see daylight!


Leave a Reply

