Lifeink

The life and words of Ashley, Erin, and Michelle

2009 Books In Review January 5, 2010

Last year, in my own personal blog, I wrote lists of three of this and three of that about 2008. I’ve decided against that this year.

One thing I have continued from 2008 through 2009 was my goal to read 10,000 pages in completed books (excluding children’s books, which have been too numerous to count) within one year.

Inspired by the similar goals of my friend Rachael Clanton, I started at January 1, 2008, and on December 31, 2009, I had reached about 9, 500 pages. I had missed it by one book. How disappointing.

So, I have decided to renew the goal. This isn’t a New Year’s “resolution”, just a goal to accomplish by next New Year’s.

This year, I was not nearly as successful, but I have enjoyed the books I read. One way to motivate myself has been to always read a book before seeing a movie based on it. As a result, I’m sure you’ll recognize a lot of the books I’ve read this year as major movies that have been released.

Another way I’ve managed to motivate myself to read new books is by following along with the Schindlers’ book club. While I might not drive all the way to Chicago every month to attend, I’ve attempted to read many of the books. (That was probably a good thing, as it took me two months to read October’s book.)

As 2009 came to a close, I must admit: I only read about 2/3 of my goal this year, 6,179 pages. I’ve read many more incomplete books and magazines, but I only included completed books.

Considering I haven’t yet met my goal, I am going to try again this year. Perhaps I’ll manage 10,000 in 2010? Who knows? I’ve already completed my first book.

Maybe this next year I should require that they are all in large print so that I can multiply pages faster. Hmmm.

I’ve also recently discovered the BBC book club. (My dear friend Katie sent me a link letting me know that John Irving would be on and discussing my favorite of his books, A Prayer for Owen Meany.) I might try to follow along with that book club as well, but that might be a bigger stretch.

Please suggest any for this following year if you know of any I might like in particular. Thanks to anyone who may have suggested one I’ve read this year.

Here is the list of the books I completed in 2009:

  • The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
  • Prodigal Summer by Barbara Kingsolver
  • The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd
  • Cold Tangerines by Shauna Niequist
  • He’s Just Not That Into You by Greg Behrendt and Liz Tuccillo
  • New Moon by Stephanie Meyer
  • The Man Who Was Thursday by G.K. Chesterton
  • Eclipse by Stephanie Meyer
  • Breaking Dawn by Stephanie Meyer
  • A Little Bit Wicked by Kristin Chenoweth
  • Harry Potter & the Half-Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling
  • Blind Dates Can Be Murder by Mindy Starns Clark
  • Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris
  • To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
  • Crazy Love by Francis Chan
  • Wise Blood by Flannery O’Connor
  • The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie by Muriel Spark
  • The World as I Remember It: Through the Eyes of a Ragamuffin by Rich Mullins

My list from 2008:

  • The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
  • Crooked Little Heart by Anne Lamott
  • The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis
  • The Horse and His Boy by C.S. Lewis
  • Prince Caspian by C.S. Lewis
  • The Voyage of the Dawn Treader by C.S. Lewis
  • A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini
  • The Silver Chair by C.S. Lewis
  • The Last Battle by C.S. Lewis
  • Velvet Elvis by Rob Bell
  • The Namesake by Jhumpa Lahiri
  • Baudolini by Umberto Eco
  • Harry Potter & the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling
  • Peace Like a River by Leif Enger (twice)
  • Harry Potter & the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling
  • Harry Potter & the Pirsoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling
  • Harry Potter & the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling
  • Harry Potter & the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling
  • Harry Potter & the Half-Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling
  • Harry Potter & the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling
  • The End of the Affair by Graham Greene
  • REVEAL by the WCA
  • The Five Love Languages by Gary Chapman
  • The Name of the Rose by Umberto Eco
  • Twilight by Stephanie Meyer
 

9 Responses to “2009 Books In Review”

  1. whatsnextgod Says:

    I am currently reading Forgotten God by Francis Chan. right now and blogging all about it. Come check it out!

  2. Goatcabin Says:

    I recommend A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith. Also The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. And Cry, the Beloved Country. Those were maybe the three best books I read this year.

    • Erin Joy Says:

      I’m in the process of reading A Tree Grows in Brooklyn. I’m actually borrowing a copy Abby gave me a visit or two ago. I’ll make it through eventually. 🙂 I do like what I’ve read though.

      I feel I should have some shame in that I never finished Cry, the Beloved Country for one of my classes. I think it may have been the one Abby and I shared. I can’t remember. I think I have more shame in having too many classes where I didn’t finsh books.

      I know nothing of The Book Thief. I’ll add that to my “to read” list.

      • Abby Says:

        Erin, we were supposed to have read Ah But Your Land is Beautiful for the class you shared with me, but you may have had to read Cry the Beloved Country for another course. I just finished another of Paton’s books today– Too Late the Phalarope. It was really good.

        I’ve tried to write down all the books I read as I read them for the last two years with no success, but I’m giving it another go this year :-). I’ve remembered to write them all down so far, and I’ve even written down the number of pages so we’ll see if I can break 10,000. If I keep the same pace throughout the year as I have in January, then I’ll exceed the page count.

        Also, I would recommend The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield. I couldn’t put it down.

        • Erin Joy Says:

          Maybe I was supposed to read Cry the Beloved Country for a Staples class. Or maybe I just saw the movie in a class. I’m not sure. I have the book already at any rate.

          What’s The Thirteenth Tale about?

          Good luck with remembering to write them all down this year. I know that you’re much more avid a reader than I am, but if I keep going at my one book per week rate I’ve had so far, I’ll actually pass the 10,000 pages as well.

          • Abby Says:

            We watched the movie Cry the Beloved Country for Love & Friendship class, but read Ah, But Your Land is Beautiful. Now that I’ve read two of Paton’s minor works, I feel like I should read Cry the Beloved Country even though I’ve already seen the movie.

            The Thirteenth Tale is about an immensely popular author who would never tell reporters the real story about her life, but instead would just make something up each time they asked. Her whole life remains a mystery until she commissions an author to write her biography, which is where The Thirteenth Tale picks up. It was a book about book lovers for book lovers. I found it riveting.

            Now I’m reading The Nine Tailors by Dorothy Sayers, and if the first 150 pages are any indication, she may be one of my new favorite authors!

        • Erin Joy Says:

          Thanks for making me not feel quite as crazy. I am still determined to read one of Paton’s books someday.

          And I’ll have to look up The Thirteenth Tale at the library. It sounds good.

  3. Im going to coat-tail on what Very Evolved said The way you connect to your audience is Know who you are writing to. You need to pick a Target Audience and stick to them. You wouldnt write to an audience of 14yr olds the same way you would write to an audience of 60yr olds.


Leave a Reply

