Lifeink

The life and words of Ashley, Erin, and Michelle

I Dream of Grandma December 8, 2009

Filed under: Life in General,Writing — Erin Joy @ 10:34 pm
Tags: , ,

Last night I had a dream that my grandma moved into my neighborhood. Not only did she pack up all of her belongings, she brought her entire yard with her. She’d also acquired several tire swings and pieces of blue playground equipment. And a tiger.

I don’t know about yours, but my grandma’s probably not the first person who comes to mind when I think “tiger wrangler”. Even still, the idea of it has kept a smile on my face for most of the day.

The biggest question I have is why I happened to remember this dream as opposed to any of the other dreams I have had. I know I have insane dreams on a regular basis, but that isn’t to say I can remember them all. I know I’ve had crazy dreams every night this week, but last night was the only one I woke up with it still in my mind.

At the same time, I’d like to know why exactly I had the dream to begin with. In high school, I wrote a paper on dream analysis, but to be completely honest, I think that is just hokey. I mean, just because I had a dream where I was eating a piece of cheese does not mean that I’m going to be rich in the next couple of months. Just because I dreamed that I was sitting on a couch talking with some unknown brother of a friend does not mean that I have romantic inclinations toward that non-existent, imaginary brother.

More likely than not, I was talking to that friend about his brothers shortly before retiring for the evening, or I’d heard the kids I babysit ask for cheese one too many times that day. Or, I just have what some people call an “overactive imagination”. Whatever the cause, I don’t think that my future can be predicted by my dreams. They do, however, seem to make some interesting plot lines. If only I could funnel my dreams into some sort of productive outlet, like a short story. Hmmm.

So, what about your dreams? What are some of the craziest scenarios has your brain cooked up while you’ve been re-energizing for the next day? Or are you just one of those people who pretends they don’t dream at night?

 

7 Responses to “I Dream of Grandma”

  1. Marcia Dream Says:

    The images in dreams are usually symbols, which is why they can seem silly when taken in literally.

    Your grandmother in your dream is probably not really your grandmother. She can represent an authority figure, wisdom, the past (because of her age) or any quality that your aunt reminds you of.

    The tiger can stand for danger, strength, cunning, beauty or anything else that you associate with tigers.

  2. I once dreamed that I drove a levitating purple box, and crashed it into a telephone pole. Bummer.

  3. Kate Says:

    Do it. Short story about a tiger-wrangling Grandma, even if it’s distant past a la Second Hand Lions.

    • Erin Joy Says:

      I think I missed your reference, but it’s definitely in my store of things to potentially write when I take the time to sit down.

      • Kate Says:

        If you haven’t seen Second Hand Lions, you really should. Mom’s got a copy you could borrow. It’s like Big Fish only better. Well, I like it better.

        • Erin Joy Says:

          Noted. I wasn’t ever a huge fan of Big Fish, but I’m willing to try most any movie when it comes to your family’s suggestions. You usually recommend good movies.


Leave a Reply

