Lifeink

The life and words of Ashley, Erin, and Michelle

December: Day One December 1, 2009

Filed under: Journaling,Life in General — michellehuegel @ 11:05 pm
Tags: , , ,

Ever wonder how the holidays seem to creep up then fly by? In an effort to pin them down and get my full month’s worth of Christmas spirit and enjoyment, I’m endeavoring to keep a December daily journal. The plan is to take pictures every day as well, and create a mini-scrapbook. Since this is Cai’s first Christmas, it should make a sweet keepsake for him to look at later! Plus then we’ll have solid proof that December is actually one full month long, not just two and half days of whirlwind relative visiting, present buying/wrapping/opening (sometimes all in the same day), and Christmas story reading. Why don’t you join me? Here’s my entry for day one:

Tussling with tinsel, lassoing lights, and arguing about ornaments: we sure know how to deck the halls in the Lewis/Huegel house! Although we picked out our tree the Saturday after Thanksgiving, it’s taken three more days to get the tree in the correct position (a large desk, chair, rolling cart, and several boxes of stuff had to be moved and an entire shed cleaned out first), one strand of lights hung, and four ornaments placed just-so.

I’ve also managed to string up some lights and garland between our living room and dining room, unpack and display a nativity set, two angels, a couple bunches of fake greenery, and several silver taper candles left over from our wedding. Despite our best efforts, it’s starting to look festive around here, if a little spotty. I even dusted! Sad that I can’t remember the last time I dusted certain shelves!

I was feeling pretty frustrated tonight with our lack of Christmas-decorating progress, until I turned on some Christmas music and remembered why we do all this crazy stuff—because Jesus came as a sweet baby boy to live among us and then gave his life for us. Kind of puts my pouty mood in its rightful place—out in the trash can with all the strands of dead Christmas lights!

 

4 Responses to “December: Day One”

  1. I love this! I have got to hurry to get my journal up for today – it’s one hour before midnight here! lol!

  2. Erin Joy Says:

    Michelle, that’s a wonderful idea! While it may not be on here, perhaps this will motivate me to get back into writing in my own journal.

  3. Great idea Michelle!

  4. This is most visited sites. Amazing job moderating. And insightful articles. Rarely does a website keep me coming back. I hope everyone has an amazing holiday season.


Leave a Reply

