Lifeink

The life and words of Ashley, Erin, and Michelle

Christmas Music and Rule Breaking November 23, 2009

Filed under: Writing — ashleybarrett @ 10:39 am
Tags: , , ,

I’m listening to Christmas music as I write this post. No, I’m not overlooking Thanksgiving. I’m looking forward to Thanksgiving and I’m thankful for Christmas music.

Sometimes, I get a little rush from breaking rules. Like my rule not to listen to Christmas music before thanksgiving, or to put garlic in meat for tacos. And (only occasionally) not making the bed.

I’m convinced you can get a creative rush from breaking “rules” too, at least in first drafts. One of the rules I’m most fanatic about is active voice. So for my writing prompt this week, I’m going to write something intentionally using passive voice.

Here’s what I have so far:

I was here and she stood there

a little grin played on the corners of her mouth.

She peeked at me from beneath the stairs.

Flecks of glitter sparkled on her hands and cheeks.

A piece of red garland hung in her hair.

The light glinted off tiny streaks of tinsel on her shoulder

and evergreen air-freshener drifted through the air.

“Look Mommy! I’ve been helping you decorate for Christmas!”

So I encourage you this week in writing or life to break one of your own rules, just a little one, and see what comes of it.

Oh yeah and if you’re a rebel like me, here’s one of my favorite Christmas carols.

Maybe I really do have Christmas on the brain…

 

4 Responses to “Christmas Music and Rule Breaking”

  1. Erin Joy Says:

    We had a Christmas concert at my church back the beginning of November. But, shhhh, don’t tell anyone. 🙂 (Have I told you what Michelle Eichorst says of listening to Christmas music before Thanksgiving?)

    And I like that song. I see why you love it so much.

  2. So funny that you had a Christmas concert that early! No, what does Michelle say.

    We sang Carol of the Birds in my Madrigal choir in high school, but I lost my recording it and have been searching for it for years! There are many different Christmas songs titled, “Carol of the Birds” these guys do a good job.

  3. Ashley, that music was lovely–but not quite as lovely as you! That was a very nice poem. Does my wife want a package of glitter in her stocking for Christmas?!

  4. Thanks hun, I’d love some Christmasey glitter, but I want it before Christmas day so I can sprinkle it all over and make the apartment or house look festive. 🙂


Leave a Reply

