Lifeink

The life and words of Ashley, Erin, and Michelle

Writing Prompt November 9, 2009

Filed under: Writing — ashleybarrett @ 1:58 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

I’ve been participating (sporadically) in the November poem a day chapbook challenge on Poetic Asides with Robert Lee Brewer. I wanted to share my favorite prompt from this week.

I want you to take the phrase “Maybe (blank),” replace the (blank) with a word or phrase, and write a poem using that new phrase as your title. Some example titles: “Maybe we really did need a bigger boat,” “Maybe next time you’ll listen to me,” “Maybe never,” “Maybe baby,” and so on.

Here’s what I came up with:

Maybe Someone Else Should Cut His Hair

As the cat bats dirty-blonde tufts across the floor
soft tumbleweeds
My brother rubs his scalp
surveying the damage
Mom stands with her hands on her hips,
“That was not what I had in mind.”

I’d love to see what you come up with! What do you think of this writing prompt and writing prompts in general?

 

2 Responses to “Writing Prompt”

  1. Erin Joy Says:

    HA! I’m picturing that whole scene at your mom’s house. I love poetry that brings images to my mind.

  2. Glad you like it 🙂


Leave a Reply

