Lifeink

The life and words of Ashley, Erin, and Michelle

The Ethics of Temp Work October 13, 2009

Filed under: Life in General — Erin Joy @ 9:18 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Lately, I’ve been working for a temp agency in town. It’s been a great way to keep up on bills while not having a permanent job, and I’ve been very thankful for the work. This weekend, however, I realized that I’m dealing with an interesting dilemma by accepting some of this work.

While looking for a job, one of the things that I am looking to most is that I want to work somewhere I can agree with the morals and the standards of the company. In taking a temp job, I haven’t even considered that. I just say, “Well, I’m thankful for the work.” It’s true, I am very thankful for the work, but at the same time, I’m sitting there thinking, I can’t stand that I am here promoting what I don’t agree with.

So, I guess I’m asking if this makes me a hypocrite. Should I turn down work because I don’t think that people should be involved in sending out mass mailings? (But it’s marketing, right?) Or should I turn down work because I’d be manning a table at a conference for a company I think is a scam? (But I’m just making a couple bucks and the agency didn’t tell me the name of the company I’d be working for, right?)

Is the couple bucks an hour worth my time and my guilt? I still don’t know.

 

Leave a Reply

