Lifeink

The life and words of Ashley, Erin, and Michelle

Part of Your World [Get a Job Remix] September 28, 2009

Filed under: Life in General,Writing — Erin Joy @ 12:42 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

A few weeks ago, I watched The Little Mermaid for the first time all the way through in English. The only other time I’d seen it was in high school French class. I was one of the few girls growing up who didn’t dream of being Ariel or repeatedly watch the scene where she sang with all her gadgets and gizmos in the cave. That’s okay though. I’ve decided to make up for lost time by writing a parody of the song with respect to my current situation.

And just a clarification before you start reading, I don’t hate spending time with all kids. It just gets tiring when you seem to only spend your time babysitting kids, especially when you would rather spend time at a job doing something else. Even still, I’m thankful every day for what income I do have.

“Part of Your World” [Get a Job Remix]

ARIEL
[spoken] Maybe he’s right. Maybe there is something the matter with me. I just don’t see how a world that employs so many people could find me so bad.

Look at this stuff,
Isn’t it neat?
Wouldn’t you think my life’s complete?
Wouldn’t you think I’m the girl,
The girl who has everything?
I’ve got a home,
Friends all around.
How many blessings can one person have?
Looking around here you think:
Sure, she’s got everything.
I’ve got bubbles and puzzles a-plenty.
I sit babies and toddlers galore.
You want Handy Manny shows?
I know twenty!
But who cares?
No big deal,
I want more!

I wanna be where the people are
I wanna be, wanna be with them workin’
Walking around at those – what do you call ’em?
Oh – jobs!

Watchin’ the kids, you don’t get too far.
Ideas are required for writing, working
Scrolling along down a – what’s that word again?
Screen.

Out where they write, out where they have fun
Out where their sitting days are all done
Imagine me free – wish I could be
Part of that world!

Know what I’d give if I could live out of these pressures?
Know what I’d pay to see loans come to an end?
Bet’cha you can, and they understand
That they’re not stuck living with their daughters
Proper women, independently dreamin’
Ready to stand

And ready to know what the people know
Ask ’em my questions and get some answers
What’s a job and what does it – what’s the word?
Earn?

When’s it my turn?
Wouldn’t I love, love to explore that world with no kids,
No more babies?
Wish I could be,
Part of that world!

 

8 Responses to “Part of Your World [Get a Job Remix]”

  1. LOL! Very creative Erin! I’m so looking forward to sharing that Sparkletini with you :).

  2. Erin Joy Says:

    Funny thing about this: I have a new job … but it includes babies and children. There’s just a camera between them and me now. 🙂

  3. Ha! And it’s not all babies and children all the time :). And no, you didn’t buy it in college. You bought it on the St. Louis trip to buy beads for Michelle’s wedding, remember?

    I still laugh when I think of Michelle’s cousin asking us, “They don’t have no bead stores in Michigan? You had to come all the way down here?”

    • Erin Joy Says:

      True.

      I guess that St Louis before Michelle’s wedding was so shortly after college that it still felt like college. Wasn’t I still living in Indiana at least? I forget her cousin saying that. I fondly remember that trip on a regular basis though.

  4. Yeah, I think you were still living in Indiana.

  5. lyds Says:

    Erin, this is way cute!
    It put a smile on my face for the day, thanks!


Leave a Reply

