Lifeink

The life and words of Ashley, Erin, and Michelle

Group Interviews September 17, 2009

Filed under: Life in General — Erin Joy @ 3:17 pm
Tags: , , ,

Monday I was able to take part in a group interview for a position I applied for at a retail store in town. I had never taken part in a group interview before, and I didn’t know what to expect.

I asked around for suggestions, but I didn’t hear much that ended up being useful. (Only one or two others had actually been in a group interview.) So, I resorted to looking online. I found  that there would be a few activities that we work together as a group, and then maybe some individual discussion time with the person giving the interview.

I figured it wouldn’t be too difficult, right? I’d been in Destination Imagination in high school. I can think on my feet, or at least I could six years ago.

When I arrived at the interview, I still feel that I was unprepared for what I would encounter. There were about four other candidates there, and we were quite the diverse group. Ranging from late teens to late 20-somethings, our group represented at least three different races and more than that many points in life. There was a mother with a second on the way, a college student, and some people just looking for redirection.

Up until that moment, I had never really considered who else was out there searching for a job along side of me. It gave me a sense of perspective, and it made me thankful for the support that I have now. If nothing else, I’m thankful for how enlightening the experience was.

But to be quite honest, I don’t expect to get the job, considering how much of my individual interview focused on my lack of retail experience. Part of me still hopes I am wrong, but I could see where I couldn’t quite measure up on the activities, too. They said they’d call sometime today, and I’ve yet to hear from them, but that’s okay. If it’s meant to be, it will be; if not, it won’t. It’s as simple as that.

 

2 Responses to “Group Interviews”

  1. Erin Joy Says:

    Even as much as I expected not getting the job, it was still rough when I found out that I was was right.

  2. Bummer Erin. ::hugs::


Leave a Reply

