Lifeink

The life and words of Ashley, Erin, and Michelle

Michelle’s Writing Exercise September 9, 2009

Filed under: Writing — ashleybarrett @ 9:30 am
Tags: , , , ,

I wish I could write stories that are both simple and profound. I like good stories just because they are good. But good stories that tell the truth are great. I would love to write stories (and poems) that communicate truth while being enjoyed at the same time. I want to strike that universal chord where everyone can relate to the characters in my story. I want to write about characters who are real and live and breathe off the page. I want to incorporate the details about life that I savor: sunshine, warm bread and honey, smiles etc.  I wish I could write stories that have artistic merit but still hit home with people outside of academic circles. I also wish I could write something that I would/could finish. I wish I could write prose that moved seamlessly. I wish I could write stories that don’t avoid hard topics but ultimately speak on hope and redemption.  I wish I could write about all the wonderful details of my own life and thoroughly mine my own experiences to entertain and help others.  I wish I could write with the humor and authenticity of Anne Lamott and the realism of Stephen King.

 

2 Responses to “Michelle’s Writing Exercise”

  1. uninvoked Says:

    Those are the hardest stories to write. Uninvoked is not that profound, but it has so many layers to it, I can barely make it into the story I want it to be.

  2. I get what you mean 🙂


Leave a Reply

