Lifeink

The life and words of Ashley, Erin, and Michelle

My Personal Peptalk July 17, 2009

Filed under: Writing — ashleybarrett @ 9:25 am
Tags: , ,

Even though I claim to be a writer I find so many ways to do something besides write.

If avoiding were an olympic sport, I think I’d own a gold medal. My first avoidance tactic is usually household tasks. There’s always something to clean, cook or rearrange. But sometimes I want to avoid chores too so I have to seek my excuses elsewere.

Enter the internet, Facebook, Twitter and blogs. Hey, I’m “networking” right? Or if I’m browsing random sites on the internet I tell myself I’m doing “research.” But what’s the point of networking and researching if you never get around to writing anything? If an agent asked me right now, “So what do you write?” An honest answer would be “Tweets mostly. Occasionally a  journal entry or blog post. Want to represent me? ”

What good is that connection now?

Or, even scarier, standing in front of Jesus who after gave me a new life and a call to write. He asks “What did you do?”

“I tweeted at least once Monday through Friday and some of them were really witty.”

Despite the truth, I think avoiding writing is natural, especially for a writer. Or at least my avoidance feels natural. Writing for me is like jumping off a cliff. What if there’s nothing there? Or what if something is there I don’t want to land on.  What if I can’t recover? Writing dissolves denial and sometimes everything you have carefully swept under the rug rushes at you. Who wouldn’t avoid that?

So what’s a writer to do? Next week I’ll write about things that make jumping off that cliff a little less daunting.

Question for you: How do you feel when you begin writing, composing, painting etc.?

 

One Response to “My Personal Peptalk”

  1. Erin Joy Says:

    I’m as guilty as the next. But mine also happens when I have to start looking for a job.


Leave a Reply

