Lifeink

The life and words of Ashley, Erin, and Michelle

Parties May 18, 2009

Filed under: Life in General — Erin Joy @ 2:15 pm
Tags: , , , ,

This weekend I had the privilege of being involved with two separate parties, one I planned and the other I only attended. The first was my parents’ 50th birthday party, and the second was a bridal shower for one of my close friends from high school.

There were aspects of both that I truly enjoyed. It was great seeing the joy on my parents’ faces as they saw friends and family come celebrate with them, for instance. But it was also great to be able to win the door prize at the other party, a bag of kitchen towels, dish cloths and scrubbies. Both parties I was able to just sit back and enjoy the interactions between the other guests.

On the other hand, there are downsides to both roles in a party. For example, it was draining to have to do the planning, decorating and cooking for my parents’ party. I enjoyed it, but it was draining (on both my energy and wallet).  At the other party, I found myself like I typically do at parties: not knowing what to do with myself because I didn’t have a specific “job” other than just being there and enjoying the company.

Looking back at both parties, I’m not entirely sure which role I would rather take. I love to entertain, and I like being in charge, but it’s stressful to have that much weighing on your shoulders. At the same time, however, it’s nice to enjoy the work that others have put into a celebration as well. I guess that it is important to have a balance between the two now and again.

Which role would you rather take: the person planning the party or the person attending the party?

 

2 Responses to “Parties”

  1. If I had to choose between the two, I’d definitely pick going to a party that someone else planned. But unlike you, I’m quite good at sitting around with nothing to do.


Leave a Reply

